Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-21-2012, 04:57 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Changed oil & filter on Onan Gen.

We picked up a new to us 2011 Itasca Sunstar a couple of weeks ago. The other day I was checking fluids and discovered the generator oil was not only at the add line it was also very dirty. Had 66 hrs. on the clock. So I picked up a new filter and oil and today changed them.

Question? Is there a trick to pouring in the oil? I have been changing my own oil on all my vehicles for over 30 yrs. and never had this problem.

Now for the problem. When I was filling the oil the 1st qt. went in very easy. just poured it in. The second qt. however started to overflow almost immediately. I ended up adding about an ounce at at time and let it settle before I could pour in another ounce. It took almost 1/2 hr. to put the last qt in. Now the dip stick reads full.

Sorry for the long story.
Old 11-21-2012, 07:50 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner

pre-filling the filter helps (less trapped air).
Old 11-22-2012, 08:52 AM   #3
Winnebago Owner

Yeah, it's a pain in the patootie. Difficult spot to get any kind of oil bottle into and it takes oil really slowly. At least the filter screws on vertically, so prefilling it is a great suggestion.
Old 11-22-2012, 08:59 AM   #4
Winnie-Wise

Thankfully it's only once a year ( for me ). I hope you had the filter wrench. I didn't the first time and let's just say , I had a mess. ( screwdriver through the filter trick.) EEK

Cliff

Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 09:15 AM   #5
Winnebago Camper

Thank you for the suggestion. I'll try prefilling the filter next time. Even though I had a filter wrench that fit I was a bear to take off. It was the filter from the factory and they must torque it down really good. I was crushing the filter before it let lose.
Old 11-22-2012, 09:32 AM   #6