Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-06-2012, 11:53 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Basement air #2 compressor won't start

Hello all, this is my first time (I think) posting a question. I have a 32' 2002 adventurer. When I run my basement air conditioning on shore power both compressors start and run normally as they should. When I run the air on generator compressor #1 runs but compressor #2 does not start. This I verified with a voltmeter. When compressor #2 is timed to start all I hear is a click. Has anyone had this problem before?
vacuumbulb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 12:37 PM   #2
KJD
Winnebago Camper

Check to see if one of the breakers on the generator has tripped.
KJD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 06:14 PM   #3
Winnebago Camper

Thank you KJD, I can't believe I over looked checking the basics. DUH! I sure feel dumb... The 20 amp breaker was tripped.........
Maybe you can tell me why the ampmeter on the power control center will read 24 / 27 amps with the air running on shore power but only 10 / 12 amps running the generator.

Thanks again.
Old 09-06-2012, 06:30 PM   #4
KIX
Winnebago Master

Quote:
Originally Posted by vacuumbulb View Post
Maybe you can tell me why the ampmeter on the power control center will read 24 / 27 amps with the air running on shore power but only 10 / 12 amps running the generator.
Sounds like #2 compressor is not running on gen. Check both hot cables from the gen through the transfer switch. One should be black and the other should be red. First place to check is both A/C breakers inside the panel to see that both are actually getting 120v when on gen. It may be that you're losing one 120v leg.
Old 09-06-2012, 07:06 PM   #5
Winnebago Camper