Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-16-2007, 07:33 AM   #1
Winnebago Owner

I am still very new to all of this as I recently purchased my first motor home. The motorhome is equiped with the 6-speed allison transmision. Other that pushing the Drive, Neutral, or Reverse buttons, I know nothing about this thing. Is the LED display always suppose to display the number 6? Also, should I also be useing this pad to manually down shift when in the mountains? The family and I recently took the motorhome from Atlanta up to Unicoi state park (above Helen), and while not extremely hilly, I was rather disappointed in the performance. I should note that I tow a 2002 Saturn L-200. I know as I become more comfortable I will be venturing further into the mountains via the Blue Ridge parkway and know that there are much steeper grades out there. I would just like to hear from others on how to best use operate this transmission. The coach itself has less that 50,000 miles on it and because I cannot find a record of transmission service from the previous owner, I am going to get it in for transmission service next week. I would appreciate any suggestions.

300 HP Cat Diesel
GaDawgFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 07:33 AM   #2
Winnebago Owner