Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Towing, Hitching and Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 03-22-2019, 07:20 AM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Towing with a Land Rover

Hi everyone! Newbie here...as you'll discover quickly...

After about a year-long research project narrowing down some of our options for rv-ing and what that might entail for a couple (45 and 32) who are trying to get out of the office more and elongate our weekends, we have decided we'd like to dip our toes in the water and try out a towable, and it seems Winnebago is the top contender for build-quality and resale value. So with that being said, I'll get right to it.

I've read many threads here and other places about matching up a TV to the trailer. We're looking seriously at the 2201series as a possibility for our trips. I just need feedback from you guys on if this is safely towable with our Land Rover LR4. The numbers seem ok, but I don't have the road towing experience to know if I'm going to regret this and wish we went with a 2106/8.

Some specs on the TV
Tow capacity: 7716
Tongue weight capacity: 770
Wheelbase: 113.6"
Payload: 1440
Vehicle width: 74" (I feel this is relevant, but I may be wrong)

Factory hitch and tow package already on the vehicle and WD is not recommended due to overtaxing the compressor on the airbag suspension system, so I'll let the vehicle do whatever voodoo it does in that regard based on previous research.

I'm not sure if sway control can be used because I'm ignorant to how that attaches and works.

I realize a truck is normally preferred for towing but we do love our Rovers and if this is a suitable proposition for us, we'd like to try it because they are a pleasure to drive without a trailer.

2201DS specs: