Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-22-2016, 06:25 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Towing my Jeep behind my new Winnie

Just brought my new Winnie vista LX 35f home today. I was planning on towing my Jeep Wrangler behind and noticed that there is quite a bit of height differential between the front bumper and the hitch on my MH. The bottom of my Jeep Wrangler bumper measures approx 20 inches off the ground while my hitch measures approx 26. Give or take with the frozen ground conditions here in the northeast....any suggestions on the type of hitch I should be looking at to safely tow our toad? Thank you for your feedback... I am a newbie to the MH travel community
TheBelchers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2016, 06:35 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper

I bought a Roadmaster (048-8) Hi-Low Hitch For My Winnie to tow my Wrangler.

With the Blue Ox tow base plate it is exactly 8" lower than the MH's hitch at least until I put a lift on my Jeep .

The Roadmaster is the heavy duty one, I didn't want to skimp.
Old 02-22-2016, 06:44 PM   #3
Winnebago Watcher

Drop reciver

This is what I use with my Rubicon. I put the hitch in the lower slot and it makes the tow bar even with the base plate. For some reason my picture won't post but what I use is the Geny 304 drop receiver. You can google it. It is vey heavy duty and has multipable reciever openings.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpeg
Views:	214
Size:	27.6 KB
ID:	119645  
georgew48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2016, 06:45 PM   #4
Winnebago Camper

Agreed. No need to skimp while towing the fun part behind us.....thanks
Old 02-22-2016, 06:48 PM   #5
Winnie-Wise

Congratulations on the new outfit and welcome to the forum! You've got a whole bunch of new friends who don't mind questions - often have some good insight and experience to share - and appreciate when you do the same.