Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-21-2016, 11:56 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Looking for used 4x4 toad - suggestions?

Hi, I have a Aspect 30C and would like to buy a used 4X4 to tow. I have an Xterra, but it's kind of heavy. I am interested in what other members are towing and if you might have some suggestions on a lighter weight vehicle? I've had some bad experiences in the past with towing and tranny problems, so I'm very cautious. I would like to flat tow. Thanks for your help!
deesnest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2016, 12:29 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner

FWIW I'm curious too. It does not seem like there are any smaller SUV's left with ground clearance and 4x4.
nothermark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2016, 01:11 PM   #3
Winnebago Owner

Lots of people including me tow a Jeep Wrangler. They are not that heavy and tow very nicely.
Old 01-21-2016, 01:12 PM   #4
Winnebago Owner

Jeep.
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2016, 01:19 PM   #5
Winnebago Watcher

I bought a Jeep Wrangler. Took several months looking and finally found an 09 with only 23,000 miles on it. Really glad I listened to others on the forum and got the Wrangler.
brucev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2016, 01:24 PM   #6
Winnebago Owner

Honda CRV = 3,358 to 3,624 lbs

Jeep Wrangler = 3,879 to 4,921 lbs

Nissan Xterra = 4,140 to 4,425 lbs

I tow a Honda CRV
Bigd9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2016, 01:26 PM   #7
Winnebago Camper

Wrangler and Jeep Liberty are both available in true 4X4. For AWD, the Honda CRV and manual trans Subarus are good toads.
Nick-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2016, 01:29 PM   #8
Winnebago Camper

Send a message via MSN to KennyGolub
Chevy Colorado
KennyGolub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2016, 01:31 PM   #9
Winnebago Owner