Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-16-2013, 07:54 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Dolly towing 2009 Toyota Corolla

Has anyone out there towed a Toyota Corolla on a dolly? I am new to RVing and want to tow my 2009 Corolla behind my Itasca 31KE, So far anything I have discovered on this topic says I cannot flat tow this car so I plan on dolly towing it. Any input as far as experience and what to be careful of would be greatly appreciated.
runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 09:34 AM   #2
Winnie-Wise

Quote:
Originally Posted by runaway View Post
Has anyone out there towed a Toyota Corolla on a dolly? I am new to RVing and want to tow my 2009 Corolla behind my Itasca 31KE, So far anything I have discovered on this topic says I cannot flat tow this car so I plan on dolly towing it. Any input as far as experience and what to be careful of would be greatly appreciated.
First let me say Welcome to the forum.com

I think you are correct about not being able to tow the Toyota 4 down. Not many, if any, of the Toyota cars are. That leaves you with a choice-either trade for a different toad, or use a dolly. While I think using a dolly is a royal PITA, it is also likely to be your lowest cost alternative. Many, many RVers use them, and for a variety of reasons, not the least of which is the cost of the base plate, tow bar, and supplemental brakes you will need to tow 4 down.

The negatives for using a dolly are the hassel of getting the car on/off and straped down, plus finding a place to park the dolly when not in use. You may want to shop for a used dolly to give that a try before looking at the other option.
Good luck and safe travels,
Ed
Old 11-16-2013, 09:51 AM   #3
Winnebago Master