Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-31-2018, 06:35 PM   #1
Winnebago Master

Trip Planning software

On our trip from Alaska to Indiana and back last fall I used some of the free trip planning software such as Good Sam Road Trip Planner and Rand McNally Trip Maker with ok results.

When checking email today I got an offer from RV Trip Wizard that looks promising. Not free though, looks like they want $39.00 a year.

How about some feedback on trip planners in general and this RV Trip Wizard in specific?
Old 01-09-2019, 07:56 AM   #2
2016 Suncruiser 37F

I have been using RV Trip Wizard for over 6 months. I think it is worth the money. Sometimes in remote areas they don't have all the available RV Camping areas, but you can add them with reviews.
Old 01-09-2019, 08:40 AM   #3

I've also found RV Trip Wizard helpful. I've broken down long trips into different trips to make them easier to use. It works better (faster) to leave the campgrounds turned off until you know where you want to stay. I don't use the fuel function as I can't seem to get it to work all the time. It might be a user error though. They have been actively adding new features so it's nice to see them invested in making this tool better.
ddaudelin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 08:55 AM   #4
Site Team

I use the Goodsam/Rand McNally trip planner because of the ability to export the trip to my Winnebago OEM Xite GPS system.

It's not perfect, most are not. But the ease of exporting means a lot to me.
Old 01-10-2019, 01:54 AM   #5
Winnie-Wise

Another vote for RV Trip Wizard. It has been integrated with the excellent website RV Park Reviews. We just finished 9000 miles with 30-40 stops and it worked great. Well worth the money, as it allowed us to find Passport and other cheap parks all along our route, saving hundreds of dollars.
Old 01-10-2019, 09:21 AM   #6
Winnebago Camper

Quote: